Kremers Lecture

About the Kremer’s Lecture:

The annual Kremer’s Lecture is an event co-hosted by Rho Chi and PLS, the school’s academic honor society and leadership society, respectively. Every year, a speaker that exemplifies both academic excellence and leadership within the pharmacy community is invited to speak at the school. Everyone in the school is invited to attend, and members of Rho Chi and PLS are invited to a luncheon afterwards with the guest speaker and the Dean. Traditionally, the Teacher of the Year awards are announced at the Kremer’s lecture event.


Kremer’s Lecture 2018:

This years keynote speaker is Dr. Marie Chisholm-Burns, Dean of the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy. Dr. Chisholm-Burns will be discussing her work improving medication access, adherence and clinical outcomes in solid-organ transplant recipients in her lecture titled “Research in Practice: Pharmacists’ Value in Providing Patient Care.” The lecture will be held on Tuesday, February 27th from 12pm to 1pm in the HSLC room 1306.


Kremer’s Lecture 2017:

The keynote speaker was Jean Nappi, Pharm.D, FCCP, BCPS (AQ Cardiology). She is a Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcome Sciences, Associate Director of Graduate Pharmacy Education and Professor of Medicine at Medical University of South Carolina. Her talk was titled “Being a leader (without being in charge).”

Kremer’s Lecture 2016:

The keynote speaker was Dr. Hewitt W. “Ted” Matthews BS, BS, MS, PhD, and Dean of the Mercer University College of Pharmacy in Atlanta, Georgia. Through his service and leadership of more than 25 years at the same institution, the pharmacy program has gone from being unranked to being ranked the fourth best private pharmacy school in the nation by U.S. News and World Report. Among many other awards noting his outstanding personal and professional achievements, Dr. Hewitt was awarded the 2012 American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists Outstanding Dean Award. He has also served as President of the National Pharmaceutical Association as well as Founder and Chairman of the Board of Directors of the National Pharmaceutical Association Foundation (NPhAF).

Kremer’s Lecture 2015:

The keynote speaker was Bruce Mueller PharmD, FCCP, FASN, FNKF, and professor and associate dean of Academic Affairs at the College of Pharmacy in Ann Arbor, Michigan. He is also a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, American Society of Nephrology, and the National Kidney Foundation. Dean Mueller spoke about incorporating interprofessional health education into pharmacy curricula through a talk titled “Breaking Down the Silos of Pharmacy Education.”

Kremer’s Lecture 2014:

The keynote speaker was Judith Jacobi, PharmD, FCCM, FCCP, BCPS, and current president of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, previous president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, and a practicing critical care pharmacist for Indiana University Health.

Kremer’s Lecture 2013:

The keynote speaker was John A. Bosso, Pharm. D., FCCP, FIDSA, a professor and Chair of the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Outcome Science at the South Carolina College of Pharmacy. He is also a professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Disease and the Medical University of South Carolina–Charleston, South Carolina. Prof. Bosso spoke about “Servant Leadership and Professionalism”.