## HISTORY AT A GLANCE

Phi Lambda Sigma was organized in March, 1965 on the campus of Auburn University, by Charles Thomas, then a student, with the approval of the faculty of the School of Pharmacy. Following a two-year probationary period, the Auburn University Student Senate granted a charter to the Society on October 3, 1967. The Phi Lambda Sigma National Fraternity was legally incorporated in Lee County, Alabama on June 28, 1968. That same year, the name "Phi Lambda Sigma" was registered with the U.S. Bureau of Patents and Copyrights in Washington, D.C.

The Phi Lambda Sigma National Office was moved from Auburn University to Atlanta, Georgia in 1992. In 1996, the National Office relocated from Atlanta to the campus of the University Of Tennessee College Of Pharmacy in Memphis, Tennessee. In 1999, the Society relocated to the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy, where it makes its current home.

During the Phi Lambda Sigma 35<sup>th</sup> anniversary celebration, Charles Thomas was formally recognized as its founder. The Leadership Challenge competition was renamed to honor Pharmacist Thomas' foresight of the importance to acknowledge and foster leadership development in pharmacy students and pharmacists equal to that of scholastic achievement.

## **MEMBERSHIP**

There are four membership categories: student, faculty, alumni and honorary

- The collegiate chapter is the center of PLS activity.
- ♦ Each chapter has established a process to recognize individuals of the highest moral and ethical character deserving of acknowledgement in accordance with the national constitution and bylaws of the society.
- Prospective members are nominated on the basis of their demonstration of dedication, service and leadership in the advancement of pharmacy.
- Nomination for all membership categories is generated from present members of the society.
- ♦ Membership is life-long.

## PHI LAMBDA SIGMA AWARDS

ALMNUS OF THE YEAR AWARD
AFPE FIRST YEAR GRADUATE SCHOLARSHIP
CHARLES THOMAS LEADERSHIP CHALLENGE
CHAPTER MEMBER OF THE YEAR
CHAPTER OF THE YEAR AWARD
FOUNDERS AWARD
OUTSTANDING CHAPTER ADVISOR AWARD
PROCTER & GAMBLE NATIONAL LEADER AWARD

Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society

Mary L. Euler, PharmD Executive Director 2300 MacCorkle SE Charleston, WV 25304 Phone: 304-357-4860

Phone: 304-357-4860 www.philambdasigma.org

# PHI LAMBDA SIGMA

National Pharmacy Leadership Society



MISSION: To foster and recognize leaders and support leadership commitment.

Founded in 1965 Auburn University Alpha Chapter **ESTABLISHED CHAPTERS** 

ESTABLISHED CHAPTERS, CONT.

Phi Lambda Sigma promotes the development of leadership qualities, especially among pharmacy students. By peer recognition, the Society encourages participation in all pharmacy activities. Since membership crosses fraternal and organizational lines, the Society does not compete with other pharmacy organizations.

Phi Lambda Sigma recognizes and promotes leadership. Members are selected by peer recognition. No greater honor can be bestowed upon an individual than to be recognized as a leader by one's peers. Such recognition instills and enhances self-confidence, encourages the less active student to a more active role and promotes greater effort toward the advancement of pharmacy.

# **GOALS**

- 1. Ensure the continuing availability of student and practitioner leaders for the profession of pharmacy.
- 2. Acknowledge leadership achievement and award membership to leaders recommended by the Society.
- 3. Enhance the talent, skill and effectiveness of leaders for the profession of pharmacy.
- Support and encourage sustained leadership commitment.

Alpha	Auburn University	1965
Beta	Samford University	1971
Gamma	Mercer University	1974
Delta	University of Georgia	1974
Epsilon	University of North Carolina	1976
Zeta	University of South Carolina	1979
Eta	Duquesne University	1980
Theta	University of Tennessee	1980
Iota	University of Florida	1980
Kappa	Ohio Northern University	1981
Lambda	Rutgers University	1982
Mu	University of Rhode Island	1982
Nu	The University of Toledo	1983
Xi	St. John's University	1983
Omicron	Albany College of Pharmacy	1983
Pi	Butler University	1985
Rho	University of the Pacific	1986
Sigma	Massachusetts College of	1987
	Pharmacy	
Tau	Ferris State University	1987
Upsilon	University of Houston	1988
Phi	University of Southern	1988
	California	
Chi	University of Kentucky	1988
Psi	University of Texas	1988
	at Austin	
Omega	Nova Southern University	1989
Alpha Alpha	Idaho State University	1989
Alpha Beta	University of Mississippi	1989
Alpha Gamma	University of Connecticut	1989
Alpha Delta	Xavier University	1990
Alpha Epsilon	University of Oklahoma	1990
Alpha Zeta	Campbell University	1990
Alpha Eta	West Virginia University	1990
Alpha Theta	St. Louis College of Pharmacy	1990
Alpha Iota	University of Illinois	1990
Alpha Kappa	South Dakota State University	1990
Alpha Lambda	North Dakota State University	1991
Alpha Mu	Creighton University	1991
Alpha Nu	University of Wyoming	1991
Alpha Xi	University of Colorado	1991
Alpha Omicron	University of Cincinnati	1991
Alpha Pi	Texas Southern University	1991
Alpha Rho	Purdue University	1991
Alpha Sigma	Ohio State University	1991
Alpha Tau	University of Arizona	1992
Alpha Upsilon	Drake University	1993
Alpha Phi	University of Minnesota	1993
Alpha Chi	University of Utah	1993
Alpha Psi	Southwestern Oklahoma State	1993
Alpha Omega	Northeast Louisiana University	1993
Beta Alpha	University of Wisconsin	1993
Beta Beta	University of California	1993
	San Francisco	
Beta Gamma	University of Washington	1993

Beta Delta	University of Pittsburg	1993
Beta Epsilon	University of Iowa	1993
Beta Zeta	Oregon State University	1994
Beta Eta	University of Missouri-Kansas	1994
	City	
Beta Theta	University of Puerto Rico	1994
Beta Iota	University of Kansas	1994
Beta Kappa	Long Island University	1995
Beta Lambda	University of Maryland	1996
Beta Mu	Temple University	1998
Beta Nu	Virginia Commonwealth	2000
	University	
Beta Xi	University of Nebraska	2001
Beta Omicron	SUNY – Buffalo	2001
Beta Pi	Texas Tech	2001
Beta Rho	Howard University	2001
Beta Sigma	Florida A & M	2001
Beta Tau	Midwestern University -	2001
	Glendale	
Beta Upsilon	University of Arkansas	2002
Beta Phi	Shenandoah University	2002
Beta Chi	Medical University of South	2002
	Carolina	
Beta Psi	Wilkes University	2003
Beta Omega	Nevada College of Pharmacy	2003
Gamma Alpha	University of New Mexico	2003
Gamma Beta	Loma Linda University	2004
Gamma Gamma	Massachusetts College of Pharmacy-	2004
	Worcester	
Gamma Delta	South University	2005
Gamma Epsilon	Midwestern University - Chicago	2005
Gamma Zeta	Palm Beach Atlantic University	2005
Gamma Eta	Philadelphia College of Pharmacy	2005
Gamma Theta	Wingate University	2006
Gamma Iota	LECOM School of Pharmacy	2006
Gamma Kappa	Northeastern University	2007
Gamma Lambda	Pacific University of Oregon	2008
Gamma Mu	Texas A & M University	2008
Gamma Nu	Western University of the Health	2009
	Sciences	
Gamma Xi	University of Incarnate Word	2009
Gamma Omicron	Touro University	2009
Gamma Pi	LECOM School of Pharmacy –	2009
	Bradenton	
Gamma Rho	East Tennessee State University	2009
Gamma Sigma	Union University	2010
Gamma Tau	University of Southern Nevada -	2010
	Jordan	
Gamma Phi	Northeastern Ohio Universities	2010
	College of Medicine and Pharmacy	