#### **SCCP Newsletter**

Fall 2018

# Student College of Clinical Pharmacy

#### **President's Corner**

Andrew Osterbauer

The SCCP president recently returned from ACCP annual. The conference was a lot of fun. I attended the student chapter forum again and learned a lot from this year's national chapter winner, Houston College of Pharmacy. We had four of our DPH4 members and one DPH3 member present their research at the poster presentation. Cecilia Volk, DPH3 was asked to give a five minute presentation to the ID PRN.

A conference wouldn't be complete without some networking, so I took a ferry ride with the chapter members who were in attendance as well as three professors who attended. I also attended a social for the Cardiology PRN.

We recently had our mentorship panel. We had 17 presenters and nearly 50 students in attendance. I have received positive feedback and personally have had people approach me about internship opportunities. I am planning on having a board meeting sometime in the next few weeks to plan our November meeting and to get the apparel sale rolling.



ACCP Annual Meeting 2018 was held in Seattle, WA Several SCCP members, including President Andrew Osterbauer, attended!

## **Upcoming Events**

Watch your inbox for updates!

November 2018 -General Meeting date TBD

November 2018 – Apparel Sale

January 2019 – CRC Qualifier

February 2019 - General Meeting

March 2019 - General Meeting

April 2019 – Annual PharmD and PharmTox Research Symposium

April 2019 - Elections

Spring 2019 – CPC Qualifier

#### **Mentorship Program**

The Mentorship Program's matching process was an absolute success this year! We had 43 amazing pharmacists and residents who were kind enough to devote time over the next 8 months to meet with SCCP members. With these meetings, the intention for student pharmacists to grow professionally and personally as they build their pharmacy network. This year we were able to get pharmacists from all three of the major health systems in the Madison area as well as some who instruct at the School of Pharmacy. Areas of experience included: infectious disease, ambulatory care, emergency medicine, pediatrics, oncology/hematology, anticoagulation, and so much more! All interested SCCP members were able to be matched with one of their top three pharmacists. Thank you to everyone who was interested in this year's program and, as a reminder, watch out for an end of fall and spring semester email, asking for feedback on how to make the Mentorship Program even better for future years!

#### **ACCP Competitions**

ACCP features two major competitions for pharmacy students: The Clinical Pharmacy Challenge (CPC) and the Clinical Research Challenge (CRC). Watch for information on how to enter next semester. The CRC qualifier is typically held in January and the winners are announced in May. The CPC qualifier is typically held in the spring and the finalists compete at the ACCP Conference in October.

Questions about either competition? Contact Maralena Taube <a href="mailto:taube2@wisc.edu">taube2@wisc.edu</a> or Madison Cisewski <a href="mailto:mpcisewski@wisc.edu">mpcisewski@wisc.edu</a>

### **Annual PharmD/PharmTox Research Symposium Coming this Spring**

SCCP will be hosting the 4th annual PharmD/Pharm-Tox Research Symposium on April 16th from 12-2 pm in the HSLC. If you are potentially interested in presenting your research at the symposium, please fill out this form by October 25th. If you choose to participate in the Symposium, this will require an abstract submission and poster presentation. However, this survey is not a commitment, only stating interest. Thank you!

https://goo.gl/forms/sn3jjC6aNgMUoV8z2

Questions? Contact Maralena Taube (taube2@wisc.edu)

#### 2018-2019 SCCP Board

- President: Andrew Osterbauer, DPH-3
- President Elect: Caitlin Albrecht, DPH-2
- Practice and Research Network (PRN) and CPC/CRC Co-Chairs: Madison Cisewski, DPH-3 and Maralena Taube, DPH-3
- Secretary: Lindsey Skubitz, DPH-3
- Student Liaison: Kasheng Lee, DPH-2
- Treasurer: Musetta Steinbach, DPH-3
- Outreach Chair: Amanda Bernarde, DPH-3
- Historian: Andrea Gray, DPH-3